Beantown!

Last month I made my final trip back to the States until we move back. (I can’t believe it’s been a month already… time flies.) One of my best friends from college, and a most wonderful person, took the big leap with one of his best friends and got married. Because they’re home state of Wisconsin doesn’t allow gay marriage yet (I have high expectations that ONE day the whole country will get their act together), they did the marriage ceremony in Boston and a little more than a month later (July 6th) had the big ceremony and reception in Wisconsin. What is so amazing is that because of the Supreme Court rulings two weeks ago, their marriage is now recognized in Wisconsin! Unfortunately I wasn’t able to make the trip for the big reception (it looked amazing! beer at the ceremony? I think so!), but I was able to celebrate their marriage with them and see some of my favorite people at the same time. Here are some of my favorite pictures from the trip.

IMG_2209

On the T, on my way to Lily’s apartment after staying with my friends Elaine and Brian for a night. “The next stop is… The doors will open on the right.” So. many. memories.

IMG_2211

Went to the beach outside of Boston for the first time ever. I had no idea. So beautiful!

IMG_2214

Love this girl!! She graciously hosted me for 5 nights. It was really wonderful to get to spend so much time with her. Looking forward to the fall. 😉

IMG_2219

A sensation sweeping Boston (and possibly other parts of the US). Self serve natural soft serve frozen greek yogurt with like 20 different flavors and even more toppings. So fun, but dangerous though because they charge based on weight.

IMG_2229

Ms Gabriela came up from NYC to visit! So wonderful to see her. She and her crazy husband are living in Kenya for 3 months!!

IMG_2232

Walking through Boston, I am always taken a little aback by the architecture and how wonderfully the historic buildings mesh with the modern. Just a reminder of how old the city is and how much history it has seen.

Memorial for the Boston Marathon Bombings.

Amidst all the amazing moments during the long weekend, this one was a bit sobering. I’m not so arrogant to think that these things can’t happen in a city I’ve grown to know and love. Though we all have come to enjoy the relative safety that comes with living in the United States, these things do happen. They happen all over the world, every day. But I think coming here brought on more emotions than I expected. A joyous event, a party in the city, darkened by a few people. I could get into all the political commentary that goes along with this, but really I think coming here forced me to remember that what happened in Boston does happen so much more frequently in other countries. That some people live in fear. Everyday innocent families and people. And we shouldn’t be desensitized to that.

IMG_2235

IMG_2236

IMG_2239

IMG_2242

Back to happier moments…

IMG_2254

Lily lives very close to the fens so in the morning I would take a little jog around the random wilderness that is smack dab in the middle of the city.

IMG_2251

There’s a community flower and vegetable garden in the Fens. Plots range in size and each is designed differently. Some are filled with wild flowers, others with foundtains and hammocks, still others with herbs and vegetables, though those are fewer. There are little paths curving between many of the plots and sometimes you’ll see people in their area tending to their gardens.

IMG_2263

Darn geese. They are nasty. I didn’t even get close to them and got viciously attacked by one of them. I never appreciated how strong their wings are until one was beating unrelentingly against my leg.

IMG_2266

IMG_2292

Fish Tacos from El Pelon!!! One of our groups favorite places to eat in college. You can see why.

Sergio and Jonathon get married!! 

IMG_9535

IMG_9543

IMG_9567

IMG_9796

IMG_9710

IMG_9592

IMG_9805

IMG_9891

First dance.

IMG_9852

They didn’t even drink any alcohol. A little scary.

IMG_9911

IMG_9861

Mel is going to kill me for this one, but I love it! She looks like such a rocker.

IMG_9970

Besties!!

IMG_9957

We had the place to ourselves and the DJ let us request any song we wanted. Amazing.

IMG_9968

Adonis.

IMG_0015

And his bro.

IMG_1339

The end of an amazing night.

IMG_2301

Amazing sunset during my layover at JFK Airport. I was so sad to leave everyone, but happy to get back to my hubby. I love my friends and sometimes wish we all weren’t so adventurous. We’re spread across the world right now. Kenya, Argentina, New York, Boston, Wisconsin, Colorado, DC… and so on. But I do know that we will always find our way back to each other and when we do it will be like no time has passed at all.

Leave a Reply

