Long overdue…

Hi All!! So this is a long (loooooong) overdue and a long post. We were in Florida for about 3 weeks for birthdays and holidays and weddings. Since we got back we’ve been getting settled in, baking cookies, traveling, and other fun things. Let’s just say we took December off from the blog. We had such an amazing time in Florida with our family and friends and it was hard to leave.

These are just some of the things we did while there.

Bachelor/Bachelorette Fun!

Some good friends of ours got married at the beginning of December. Jesse was the best man so we made our way down a couple weeks early for some of the festivities. Of course I don’t have any pictures of the bachelors goings on (although we’re assured it was strictly wholesome ๐Ÿ™‚ ) but here’s some fun we had at the bachelorette party at a BYOB painting class in CityPlace. It starts innocent enough – but by the end we were somewhat covered in paint (sorry Gabi…) and getting some dirty looks from fellow painters.

IMG_4308

IMG_4304

Ah the beauty of a blank canvas. Such hope. So many promises. Much like the new year one could say. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4369

IMG_4402

The Bride-to-Be giving some autographs ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4407

Cruisin with the Fam

Every five years Jesse’s family goes on a cruise to the Bahamas all together to celebrate his grandfather’s birthday. This time around, with weddings and engagements, the family has grown substantially, and I am one of the lucky additions (obviously). On Thanksgiving Day, fourteen of us boarded a cruise ship for a four day cruise to the Bahamas. We had such an amazing time relaxing and enjoying each others company. Thank you to Nana and Daddygrandpa for an amazing trip!

So excited for my first cruise!

So excited for my first cruise!

IMG_4468

Lots of dancing

Lots of dancing

And of course, it being Thanksgiving and these guys being red-blooded American men... they immediately found a TV to watch the games.

And of course, it being Thanksgiving and these guys being red-blooded American men… they immediately found a TV to watch the games.

Thanks to Nana and Daddygrandpa for making this trip happen!

Thanks to Nana and Daddygrandpa for making this trip happen!

Wedding year for these two!

Wedding year for these two!

We got a smile on camera!!

We got a smile on camera!!

Jenna contemplating life as we pull into port in the Bahamas.

Jenna contemplating life as we pull into port in the Bahamas.

We almost made it to snorkeling... you can't see it here, but the rain and waves made us think otherwise

We almost made it to snorkeling… you can’t see it here, but the rain and waves made us chicken out.

Our ship in the Bahamas

Our ship in the Bahamas

Our cab driver

Our cab driver to Paradise Island

Apparently Pierce Brosnan was in the Bahamas as well...

Apparently Pierce Brosnan was in the Bahamas as well…

Peekaboo!

Peekaboo!

I gambled for the first time! Played the $1 slot machines... I won $3. Then proceeded to loose it. The opulence of this place is amazing.

I gambled for the first time! Played the $1 slot machines… I won $3. Then proceeded to loose it. The opulence of this place is amazing.

They do have a pretty stellar aquarium. I may have gone a little crazy with the pictures, but it was so beautiful!

They do have a pretty stellar aquarium. I may have gone a little crazy with the pictures, but it was so beautiful!

I remember, when I was younger, my grandparents had a crab trap. Every now and then when we pulled it up we would get some seahorses and they would wrap their little tails around our fingers before we put them back in the water...

I remember, when I was younger, my grandparents had a crab trap. Every now and then when we pulled it up we would get some seahorses and they would wrap their little tails around our fingers before we put them back in the water…

NEMO!

NEMO!

The majestic dance of the manta-wars... The stupid creatures got me in the jugular one year in the keys. Half my face puffed up to twice its normal size and I had to get steroids because 3 days later I was starting to have trouble breathing. But they are beautiful... ;)

The majestic dance of the manta-wars… The stupid creatures got me in the jugular one year in the keys. Half my face puffed up to twice its normal size and by the time I got back to NYC a couple days later, I had to go straight to the doctor because of breathing trouble. But they are beautiful… ๐Ÿ˜‰

A Lion Fish! Scary looking, and poisonous. And overtaking our reefs in the Caribbean. They are actually encouraging people to eat them. Jesse and I enjoyed some in Puerto Rico a couple years ago. Tender, flaky white meat. Delicious!

A Lion Fish! Scary looking, and poisonous. And overtaking our reefs in the Caribbean. Authorities are actually encouraging people to eat them. Jesse and I enjoyed some in Puerto Rico a couple years ago. Tender, flaky white meat. Delicious!

All I can think of is "You poor unfortunate souls!"

All I can think of is “You poor unfortunate souls!”

IMG_4817

Roach on my Bread!

Roach on my Bread!

IMG_4834

IMG_4836

Always a good message.

IMG_4839

Every night we came back to a different towel animal. This one was my favorite!

Basking in the sunlight

Basking in the sunlight

Last day at sea. A bunch of Noles and Gator fans took over the bar to watch the FSU-UF game. Beginning of the game... everyone is still friends

Last day at sea. A bunch of Noles and Gator fans took over the bar to watch the FSU-UF game. Beginning of the game… everyone is still friends

Typical brother.

Typical brother.

Noles got a touchdown, but couldn't hold out to the end of the game.

Noles got a touchdown, but couldn’t hold out to the end of the game.

Kayaking down the Loxahatchee

Jesse has never been down the Loxahatchee, so we took the opportunity of having a “free” week in Florida to do some kayaking with my dad. We saw birds and turtles and alligators, oh my!

I forgot how beautiful the river is.

I forgot just how naturally beautiful the river and the vegetation are here.

Resting at a dam. My arms are about to fall off.

Resting at a dam. My arms are about to fall off.

That's a gator chillin in the river. Needless to say I found a burst of energy to paddle away very quickly.

That log looking thing in the middle of the pic, that’s a gator chillin in the river. Needless to say I found a burst of energy to paddle away. Very quickly.

December 2012_Kayaking Loxahatchee_05

Hanging out Florida style
Also this week, we got to do some real Florida relaxing. The past couple years when we’ve come down, we were so busy with the wedding that we really didn’t get a chance to relax and spend good quality (stress-free) time with people. It was nice to have that chance this time. My mom and I tried to get the Wii working and we did a fair amount of walking/running/yoga-ing. Jesse and I actually got to go to the beach where we went running, swimming, and enjoyed some publix subs for lunch. And I got to spend the afternoon with a little one that we’ve been missing so much. (Oh and his mom… ha ha)

Ah Camille's.

And Camille’s.

Hanging out and loving this guy... Can't believe how big he is!

Hanging out and loving this guy and his trains… Can’t believe how big he is!

Matt and Erica Get Married!

But I forgot my camera… so, phone pictures.

Watching these two finally tie the knot. Beautiful!

Watching these two finally tie the knot. Beautiful!

IMG_1334

:)

๐Ÿ™‚

Dolphins Game!
To end our visit, Jesse and I joined my brother and dad for the Dolphins and Patriots play at the Sunlife stadium in Miami. Neither Jesse nor I had ever been to a Dolphins game (only our second pro-football game actually). We were both surprised how great the seats are even at the top. AND the stadium even has pulled pork sandwiches! so tasty. ๐Ÿ™‚

Making our way to the stadium!

Making our way to the stadium!

IMG_4931

IMG_4933

Everything about this says Florida. From the tie dye tshirt to the reference to the Dolphins perfect season and especially to the fact that the hat is sponsored by Publix.

IMG_4929

They don't have official scooter parking.

They don’t have official scooter parking.

Classy.

Classy.

Mischievous plotting

Mischievous plotting

Can't get a good one of the two of them.

Can’t get a good one of the two of them.

I miss Marino.

I miss Marino.

It really was a wonderful trip. Thanks to everyone for making it such a great vacation. We miss you all very much!

2 responses to “Long overdue…

Leave a Reply

