Birthday fun!

It was my birthday this past Sunday and despite the rainy weather, we had a great time. Jesse made me a delicious brunch of eggs over easy with salad and toast, which I promptly turned into little mini sandwiches with some mayo once I finished dipping toast in my yolks. Then in the afternoon he surprised me with ice cream and opera!! How lucky can a girl be?? (I apologize in advance for the less than stellar pictures. Someone told me I would not need a camera. Silly me. I always need a camera. Well, we’ll just have to go back. ;))

First stop was at Arkakao for some gelato. It was oh so creamy and delicious and the flavors were so strong. Jesse got maracuya (passion fruit) and an 80% dark chocolate, and I had a dark chocolate orange with a vanilla swirled with caramel. Heaven.  

Gelato at Arkakao

We then went to the Teatro Colon to see La Cenerentolaan Italian comedy based on Cinderella. Opera appears to be pretty popular here. When Jesse went to get tickets a couple days before the show, there was only standing room only tickets available and even that was filled to the max. We got a pretty good view of the show so it turned out ok. El Teatro Colon is one of the biggest (if not the biggest) theaters in Buenos Aires. It’s really magnificent. We’re going to go back for a tour and we’ll post more about it then.

La Cenerentola by Gioachino Rossini, a comedy in 2 acts.

All in all, it was a great way to kick of my 28th year of life… although, I guess it’s really my 29th year of life. Eek…

5 responses to “Birthday fun!

  1. How lucky can a girl be? She could have a soul mate like Jesse. She could be spending her 28th birthday in Buenous Aires. And she could be smacking down on gelato and anticipating Cenerentola. Naw, those are the things dreams are made of.

    Live your dream young lady.

    Uncle Michael

Leave a Reply

